Staff and Board

Wake Soil and Water Conservation District Staff

Picture of Teresa Furr

Teresa Furr
District Director

Wake Soil and Water Conservation District Logo

Emily Bateman
Natural Resource Conservationist

Picture of Caleb Lippard

Caleb Lippard
Natural Resource Conservationist

Picture of Mikayla Renn

Mikayla Renn
Natural Resource Conservationist

Photo of Loren Hendrickson

Loren Hendrickson
Farmland Preservation Coordinator

Photo of Alex Heinemann

Alex Heinemann
Big Sweep Coordinator

Leah Purvis headshot

Leah Purvis
Environmental Educator

Winifred Dorer headshot

Winifred Dorer
Conservation Specialist

Olivia Plant headshot

Olivia Plant
NRCS Soil Conservationist Supervisor

Photo of Gabriela Velez-Rodriguez standing in a field

Gabriela Velez-Rodriguez
NRCS Soil Conservationist


Wake Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors

The District is governed by a five-member board of supervisors. Three supervisors are elected on the general ballot as non-partisan candidates during the regular election of county officers, and two are appointed by the NC Soil and Water Conservation Commission upon recommendation of the local district board of supervisors.  

The board of supervisors meet monthly to establish local soil and water conservation priorities based on the needs of the district. The work is accomplished by partnering with local, state and federal agencies; businesses; and non-profit organizations for technical and financial assistance. The board is also responsible for reviewing and approving district contracts for ACSP, AgWRAP and CCAP. The Division of Soil and Water Conservation administers ACSP, AgWRAP and CCAP, and holds each local board of supervisors accountable to these state programs.

Picture of Thomas Dean

Thomas Dean
Appointed Supervisor
Board Chairman

Picture of Scott Lassiter

Scott Lassiter
Elected Supervisor
Board Vice-Chair

Photo of Beth Pugh Farrell

Beth Pugh Farrell
Elected Supervisor
Board Treasurer

Picture of Jenna Wadsworth

Jenna Wadsworth
Elected Supervisor

Photo of Ryan Broadwell

Ryan Broadwell
Appointed Supervisor