Envirothon champions from Wake to make record-setting seventh appearance at international contest

Subchronic Exposure team members with advisors
Members of Subchronic Exposure with advisors

Enloe Magnet High School’s Subchronic Exposure team won the championship title at the 2024 North Carolina Envirothon, beating out 49 high school teams and securing a spot in the upcoming international competition in Geneva, New York!

The Subchronic Exposure team was awarded $200 in cash, a commemorative plaque and a $500 scholarship that can be used at any higher education institution. The Envirothon is an academic environmental science competition that tests students’ knowledge in areas such as wildlife, forestry, aquatic ecology, soils and land use and current environmental issues.

“We are incredibly proud of the Subchronic Exposure team,” said Wake County Commissioner Matt Calabria. “This marks their third consecutive win at the state level and makes them the only high school team in our state to qualify for the international Envirothon seven times. It's truly an extraordinary achievement.”

Team captain Claire Skinner and team members Angelina Li, Danica Cheaz, Iris Wang and Saya Newton, led by their experienced advisors Chad Ogren and Karen Howard, will compete in the international NCF-Envirothon from July 28 to Aug. 3. This prestigious competition will put them against high school students from the United States, Canada, China and Singapore. Last year, the Subchronic Exposure team secured sixth place at the international Envirothon competition, earning $1,500 college scholarships.

The Subchronic Exposure team isn’t the only group showing off their environmental expertise. Congratulations also goes out to Enloe High School teams the Flaming Drip Torches and Benthic Dwellers, who won third and eighth places, respectively.

The Subchronic Exposure team’s all-expenses-paid trip is sponsored by the NC Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts. The North Carolina Envirothon is coordinated through the NC Envirothon state committee, NC Division of Soil & Water Conservation, the state’s 96 local soil & water conservation districts and the NC Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts.

Press Release