Wake Board Re-elects Chair, Vice Chair to Second Leadership Term

Portrait of Shinica Thomas
Chair Thomas

The new year will bring no changes to the leadership structure of the Wake County Board of Commissioners. Tonight, the board voted for Shinica Thomas and Susan Evans to serve a second consecutive term as chair and vice chair, respectively.

“I’m proud that my colleagues have put their trust in me to successfully lead our commission a second time,” said Chair Thomas. “In the year ahead, I look forward to collaborating closely with our partners and stakeholders to build on the ‘Better Together’ theme I set for 2023 and achieve outcomes that will benefit our nearly 1.2 million residents.”

Chair Thomas was elected to the board in 2020 and served as vice chair in 2022 and chair in 2023. During her tenure, she has worked diligently to ensure everyone in Wake County has reliable, high-speed broadband access while championing efforts to increase diversity, equity and inclusion across county government.

Chair Thomas currently serves on the Artificial Intelligence Exploratory Committee for the National Association of Counties (NACo) and is co-chair of the National Planning Committee on Reducing Overdose, which is a collaboration between NACo and the N.C. Association of County Commissioners.

Susan Evans photo web version
Vice Chair Evans

Vice Chair Evans was first elected to the board in 2018 and re-elected in 2020. During her terms, she has served as chair of the commission’s Great Government and Education Committees, and she has supported the expansion of NC Pre-K for eligible 4-year-olds and the creation of Wake ThreeSchool, a Pre-K program for eligible 3-year-olds.

“Developing a strong education continuum from cradle to college is vital to helping our youth achieve success in life,” said Vice Chair Evans. “I’m excited to continue our work in this space, as well as focus on expanding transit and relieving the pressures on housing supply and affordability, along with other initiatives that help our residents thrive.”

Chair Thomas and Vice Chair Evans will serve in these leadership roles through December 2024.

Press Release