About the Board

Wake County operates under a council-manager form of government. The governing board is a seven-member Board of Commissioners. Though each commissioner files to run for election within the district where they live, commissioners are elected county-wide and represent and serve all county residents.

Following the November election, the Board takes office at its first meeting in December. At that time, a chair and vice chair are elected for a one-year term each. The Commissioners enact policies such as establishment of the property tax rate, regulation of land use and zoning outside municipal jurisdiction, and adoption of the annual budget

The Wake County Board of Commissioners' regular meetings are held in the Wake County Justice Center, 301 S. McDowell St. Raleigh, Room 2700 in the Wake County Justice Center, on the first and third Mondays of the month (unless changed for holidays or other reasons). The first meeting of each month begins at 5 p.m. to enable more citizens who work a traditional schedule the opportunity to participate. A public comment period for citizens wishing to address the board is held from 5:30 p.m. to 6 p.m. The second meeting of each month begins at 2 p.m., with public comment from 2:30–3 p.m. The comment period is scheduled for 30 minutes but may end sooner. Citizens wishing to address the Board will be asked to sign up to speak, though the floor may be opened to those who did not sign up if a request is made during the comment period.

County Manager David Ellis is responsible for the day-to-day operations of Wake County government.

You may contact the Board of Commissioners by email or by U.S. mail by using the following address:

P.O. Box 550
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Please note that your email will go to all of the Commissioners as well as the Clerk to the Board.